The Tempest

Not Exactly Shooting For \”Miss Congeniality\”

In The Beginning…

Posted by Daniel on Saturday, January 28, 2006


Welcome to the beginning of what I hope to be a long and fruitful rant. There are just so many things happening these days – political, religious, stupid people, etc. – and finding a place to begin is a daunting challenge.

But there are also good things happening all around us every day. I’ll try to hit on those as well.

For example…

Tax time. It’s that joyous time of the year, again, when we get to acknowledge our debt to our government. I love filing my taxes each year (said with sarcasm) because it always serves as a vivid reminder that I am a second-class citizen. Or so my government representatives would have me believe. Oh, don’t get me wrong, Uncle Sam really loves receiving every penny he can squeeze out of me. Mine is what is commonly referred to as “disposable income”. It’s been really nice to see just where my disposable income goes. Lately, it’s been into the hands of the greedy s.o.b’s in the employ of our President. But that’s a rant for another time.

My long-time partner and I are, shall we say, of the same sexual identity. We’re both men. By definition, this means we are considered sick, immoral and a threat to every marriage in existance. Thank the celestial muffin we have good folks like Bush and his lying pack of bigoted hypocritical religious cronies who are only more than too happy to stand up and tell you everything that’s wrong with the world…and why fruitcakes like me are to blame for it. Why, if we’re lucky, they’ll get that constitutional ammendment passed that should set the whole discussion to rest.

My question is this…
If I have to pay the same taxes as everyone else in this country for all the same things (including school districts), why can’t I enjoy all the other rights and privilages (both local, State and Federal) as everyone else does? Isn’t this taxation without representation??

I promise I don’t want to marry my cat or the rather sturdy and stable oak tree in my front yard.

2 Responses to “In The Beginning…”

  1. RevelKC2 said

    However, our Young Maple is very attractive and the right marrying age…:-)

    While I am here, for any new fans of the Bush Countdown Clock, I keep a sign at my desk counting down to Mid Term Elections this year.

    283 days and counting!!!

  2. RevelKC2 said

    Also, my posts on DailyKos are under the username “Revel”. I have many more comments than diaries, which are usually humor related. Been busy doing a play and all…..–>

Leave a Reply

 
