The Tempest

Not Exactly Shooting For \”Miss Congeniality\”

Less Is More

Posted by Daniel on Thursday, June 29, 2006

It’s sometimes hard letting go of something you’ve created. Take blogs, for instance.

I worked very hard to create my very first blog. It was the first incarnation of The Tempest. Up to that time, my experience with HTML and CSS and RSS was limited to “Huh?” and “Do what?” and “I don’t get it.”

As time passed, though, I managed to learn very quickly the inner workings of writing and editing code. It wasn’t long before I was able to tweak this and adjust that, all the while adding more ‘bells and whistles’ and making it very interactive.

Then Blogger – the provider of that free site, began having one technical issue after another, causing the blog to be either down or less ‘tweakable’, sometimes for days at a time.

For the record, I’m not a patient person when it comes to learning something technical, and I especially hate it when something that should work, doesn’t.  Just ask Steve.

While this was all happening, I was in the process of setting up another blog – Terrene-But Not By Choice. I really liked the 3-column appearance and the other added features it provided. This site, too, was hosted by Blogger, but it was, apparently on another of it’s servers. One that wasn’t experiencing all the shut-downs.

When the glitches on the original Tempest did finally become more than I could stand, I branched out and founf WordPress.

Note: I am in no way advocating or advertising any blog host site or provider. They each have their pro’s and con’s.

The upside of WordPress is that you don’t have to spend all day working with the HTML. You can, but it’s pretty much user-friendly and without all of the down-time Blogger was having. The downside, however, is that in an effort to avoid the same shut-downs as Blogger and other sitres, WordPress does not support Java script. I find this to be very inconvenient. They say they are working on a safe way of supporting JAVA in the future.

I wait patiently…but I have my limits. (grrr)

Once I got the new and improved “The Tempest” up and going on WordPress (and let me tell you, it was a bitch getting all previous posts switched over to the new site with dates and comments intact!), I decided it was time to abandon the Blogger Tempest. As of today, it no longer exists.

I wept openly. Not!

I did decide to keep the other Blogger site “Terrene…..”, because I had a lot of JAVA script crap on it. Not the least of which is my Neoworx counter, which is a JAVA script.

Okay, I admit it. I’m a statistics whore. So sue me!!

Lately, I started to notice how rare my postings to Terrene had become. Everything I think, report, share and rant about wind up here. Terrene was becoming tedious. Then I was finally able to post audio and video files here, and it made my decision to end posting to Terrene altogether that much easier.

Another blog bites the dust.

Let me tell you, I have received numerous emails asking where I’d gone. Was I alright? Was I sick? Was I dead?

Was I that popular? I highly doubt it. Even my vanity knows it’s limits.

What, didn’t I plaster enough links and buttons directing folks to this site?

I’ll let you in on a little secret…I do have another blog out there that I do maintain daily. No, it’s not Terrene or (yet another) Tempest.

That one, I’ll never let go of.

Just like this one.

Leave a Reply

 
