The Tempest

Not Exactly Shooting For \”Miss Congeniality\”

What…Me Worry?

Posted by Daniel on Saturday, August 12, 2006

Ric & Scott are coming over today, as they have over the past couple of months. Steve decided to take off from work. Once again, we four will raise our hammers, kick up some saw dust and, quite possibly, put the finishing touches on this mammoth deck project.

I can truly picture how much work we’ll get done, as (and I speak only for myself here) I have quite a lot of tension to work off. It’s just been too stressful a week over here (online) and I just can’t wait to take out my so-called “passive aggression” on some nails and boards.

It will be nice to focus on something constructive like building, rather than all the tearing down that has been going on around us and around the world.

Terrorists targeting planes again (I’m eager to see the proof, as the timing seems suspicious to me).

Being called “traitor”, “godless”, “anti-american” and “terrorist-sympathizer” simply because I do not approve of wars fought in the name of religion.

Poilticians drumming up ways to incite zealots, while using law-abiding citizens as political and religious cannon fodder…all for a vote.

Seems everywhere you turn these days, someone is being torn down in the name of one cause or another.

It’s sad, depressing and, unfortunately, all too human. “Think as we do, or perish.” I’d rather be passive aggressive than just plain aggressive.

Then I turn and look outside at our current project. Here, we are actually trying to build something. I can work on this project. I don’t have to be pulled into a petty argument over my opinion vs. your opinion.

Rather than verbally clubbing me with your ideology, grab a hammer and we’ll build something useful that we can agree on. I would be more than happy to work with you. I guaranty you’ll have a great time. Lots of laughs. Plenty of liquids to keep you hydrated (since you can no linger take them on a plane).

Maybe I’m just too pooped to parry. After all, that’s all this week has consisted of. Instead, I think I’m ready to get my hands dirty on something constructive.

Have a great weekend, folks.

I think next week is going to be fantastic!!

Leave a Reply

 
