The Tempest

Not Exactly Shooting For \”Miss Congeniality\”

Still Another Man For Ann

Posted by Daniel on Friday, September 15, 2006

“Dorothy Ann Richards – September 1, 1933 to September 13, 2006 was an American politician from Texas. She first came to national attention as the witty keynote speaker at the 1988 Democratic National Convention (detailed below). Considered the first woman elected Governor of Texas in her own right, she served in that post from 1991 to 1995; she was defeated for re-election in by George W. Bush, current President of the United States

Richards’s keynote address to the 1988 Democratic National Convention put her in the national spotlight when she uttered the famous line, about the wealthy, then-Vice President George H. W. Bush, “Poor George, he can’t help it…He was born with a silver foot in his mouth.” The speech set the tone for her political future;

Texas’ Republican governor, Bill Clements, decided not to run for re-election in 1990. Richards painted herself as a sensible progressive, and won the Democratic gubernatorial nomination against Attorney General James “Jim” Mattox of Dallas and former governor Mark White. Mattox ran a particularly abrasive campaign against Richards, accusing her of having been a cocaine user and a reformed alcoholic. The Republican nomination for governor passed to multi-millionaire rancher Clayton Williams. After a brutal campaign, Richards narrowly won the election on November 6, 1990 by a margin of 49-47%, and was inaugurated governor the following January.” (*)

Being from Texas (1976 through 1996), I can remember a lot of things. It’s where, for all intents and purposes, I grew up. I had such a great time there.

I remember my very first dabbling into politics was in early January, 1990. I’d heard about this extraordinary and sassy broad who was running for Governor of Texas. I remember being somewhat wary of Bill Clements being in charge, and it was then that I also discovered, for the first time, that I was a Democrat.

I wanted to learn about the political process, and so I joined in the Richards’ campaign. Ours was a small grass roots group and we were all pretty new to the game. But we were determined to help get this fine lady (and she was that, in every way) elected.

Long story short, after what I though was just the nastiest campaign (on both sides), Ann won by the slimmest margin. Less than a year later, I was fortunate enough to meet her at a function in Dallas. I fell in love.

Later, in 1994, she lost her bid to re-election to some slimy little asshole named George W. Bush (led by his “Turdburgler”, Karl Rove). It was then that I’d started considering a move from the state.

She was the smartest, sharpest and sassiest lady I’ve ever met.

We’ve lost a great friend.

I will miss you, Ann.

(*) Info provided by Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

 
