The Tempest

Not Exactly Shooting For \”Miss Congeniality\”

Guilt By Definition…

Posted by Daniel on Monday, November 20, 2006

I am an atheist. Pure and simple. Quite frankly, I’m not happy being ‘labeled’ in a religious sense, but that’s just the way it is. people ask me what religion I am – mostly because of my rants against the religious hate machine out there – and when I tell them I’m not religious they tend to look at me funny (probably picturing me burning in the eternal flames) and say, “Oh, so you’re an atheist.

Until today, I never truly knew the meaning of that word. So I looked it up. What follows are the definitions:

Atheist

Atheist \A”the*ist\, n. [Gr. ? without god; ‘a priv. + ? god:
cf. F. ath[‘e]iste.]
1. One who disbelieves or denies the existence of a God, or
supreme intelligent Being.
[1913 Webster]

2. A godless person. [Obs.]
[1913 Webster]

Syn: Infidel; unbeliever; shameful one.
[1913 Webster]

Note: See A godless person. [Obs.]
[1913 Webster]

Note: See {Infidel}.
[1913 Webster] Atheistic

— From The Collaborative International Dictionary of English v.0.48

atheist
adj : related to or characterized by or given to atheism; “atheist
leanings” [syn: {atheistic}, {atheistical}]
n : someone who denies the existence of god and sides with Satan

— From WordNet (r) 2.0

[1913 Webster] Atheistic

— From The Collaborative International Dictionary of English v.0.48

atheist
adj : related to or characterized by or given to atheism; “atheist
leanings” [syn: {atheistic}, {atheistical}]
n : someone who denies the existence of god

— From WordNet (r) 2.0

19 Moby Thesaurus words for “atheist”:
Sabbath-breaker, apostate,
blasphemer, heathen, minimifidian<, nonbeliever,
nullifidian, pagan, recidivist, recreant, renegade, sacrilegist,
secularist, unbeliever

— From Moby Thesaurus II by Grady Ward, 1.0

Shit. No wonder people look at you funny if you tell them you’re not religious. Those words (highlighted in red) must flash before their eyes in HUGE font.

Look, just because someone tells you they are not religious, don’t go all Armageddon on them. It only shows how intolerant religion, in the final analysis, can be. Just because I don’t believe in God, doesn’t mean I intentionally set out to disrespect those who do. Your beliefs are your own and should, in my humble opinion, remain that way. Between you and the one you pray to.

I’ll admit, there are times when I rage against the religious machine. Viciously. More often than not, it’s as a response to the vicious and unwarranted attacks the religious zealots unleash on those of us who don’t go to church, and in so doing, “donate” to the church by way of offerings. Well, not this kitty. As far as I’m concerned, our government has placed a large crucifix smack atop both the Whitehouse and the Capitol building. All due to the politicians either being unable to seperate church from state, or their pandering for money and votes.

As far as I’m concerned, I’m already tithing far too much to the curch of Washington and the God of Bush. And that, my friends, is way too f-ing close to a religion for my liking.

Sure, I have a “colorful” attitude and sometimes just as colorful language. But that doesn’t make me a bad person.

I’m gay. But that doesn’t make me want to make a pass at you. Seriously, why do straight religious republicans even bother to flatter themselves like that? As if they are so goddam hot that the queers just can’t keep their hands off of them. Trust me, this one can. That goes especially to you, Tucker Carlson…you fat pink hack. (sorry…that slipped out)

I was raised in a catholic family. But hell, everyone already knows that, as catholics, we never really read the bible…we just took everybody’s word for it.

I don’t like to wear suits (hate it actually), but I don’t remember any bible verses that said, “Thou shalt go forth in business cloth. Unto man shall be a wollen poly blend or, at the leasteth, tweed. And unto the lowly subserviant woman, there shall be billowing polyester in the colors of my son’s Easter rising. And into your work and capitol, go ye forth only in the above holy attire and dominate those who wear Satan’s blue collar.  And be quicketh about it!”

I know what you’re thinking. “There he goes, mocking someone’s faith.”

Wrong.

I’m not mocking ‘faith’. I’m outwardly mocking the hypocracy of religion. There is a world of difference between the two. I have never had an issue with someone’s faith, as it were. I have, however, always thought someone, long ago, once had a very good idea (like the Golden Rule, or something like that), and then his jealous neighbor fucked it up by turning it into a religion as a way of scaring the shit out of people and making money from it.

I make no apologies (thanks “650” for reminding me of that) for my beliefs or opinions. If I’ve offended you, it wasn’t my intention. That’s just how I see things.

Call me crazy

Or, better yet…and for lack of a better word…

Just call me an atheist.

Leave a Reply

 
