The Tempest

Not Exactly Shooting For \”Miss Congeniality\”

Delayed Gratification

Posted by KatB on Thursday, November 23, 2006

I have been thinking about what I could contribute to The Tempest since Revel puts on the dogma better than anyone I know and Daniel is champ when it comes to punning the pundits. So what topic does that leave for the Tempest’s first straight female writer? Then it hit me. Sports! Of Course!

Bobby KnightI know you all don’t know me yet but one of the first things you should learn (besides the straight female part) is that I am a college sports junkie and the preferred sport is basketball. Don’t expect to hear from me anytime there’s a Big 12 Conference game on TV or during “March Madness” as I am totally obsessed. Last summer I found out that my favorite team, The Duke Blue Devils, would be playing right here in Kansas City in the CBE Classic Tournament.

So for my birthday last July – I got tickets Coach Kto the Championship Game, confident that my team would be playing that night

And I was right.

Tuesday night, we finally celebrated my birthday. The games were played in Kansas City’s Municipal Arena, a venue that has hosted nine NCAA final four tournaments.  Duke was playing Marquette for the championship and the Big 12’s Texas Tech was playing Air Force in the consolation round. Awesome! I got to see two of college basketball’s most legendary coaches, Bobby Knight and Mike Krzyzewski on the same night and…

Both lost.

However, it was still incredibly fun and both games were very competitive and exciting. Duke only has one junior, the rest are freshman and sophomores. They still don’t rebound very well and made a lot of ball handling mistakes. I’m looking forward to watching the season progress and besides what’s not to love about college basketball…

duke.jpg 

Til next time.

Happy American Turkey Day to Everyone!

Kat

See more of my pics at CBE Tourney Pics

Leave a Reply

 
