The Tempest

Not Exactly Shooting For \”Miss Congeniality\”

Where Are The REAL HEROES?

Posted by Daniel on Tuesday, February 27, 2007

HEROESYou guessed it…it’s a post about what is now one of my favorite TV series – second only to LOST. And if you also guessed that I’d somehow find a way to tie future Ex-President Bush into this…well, get out of my head, man, you’re freakin’ me out!!

If you haven’t been watching the show “HEROES“, I think you’re really missing out.

I’ll admit, just before the beginning of it’s first season last year, I was skeptical about starting in on another NBC series. After allowing myself to get hooked into that last heartbreak, “Surface”, only to have it yanked off the air at the end of it’s first season. I’m still not over that let down.

HEROES isn’t what you’d expect, either.  I find myself asking people I know, “Do you watch HEROES?”  I’m very surprised at how many people tell me they’ve either never watched it or – (clutch the pearls) – never even heard of it.  

That’s when I become all Mr. NBC Spokesman on their asses.  They are going to get the synopsis whether they want it or not, damnit!!

For those of you reading who also haven’t watched this show…here it comes…

HEROES is an epic drama that chronicles the lives of ordinary people who discover they possess extraordinary abilities.

As a total eclipse casts its shadow across the globe, a genetics professor MOHINDER SURESH, (Sendhil Ramamurthy, “Blind Guy Driving”) in India is led by father’s disappearance to uncover a secret theory — there are people with super powers living among us. A young dreamer, PETER PETRELLI, (Milo Ventimiglia, “Gilmore Girls”) tries to convince his politician brother NATHAN PETRELLI (Adrian Pasdar, “Judging Amy”) that he can fly. A high school cheerleader, CLAIRE BENNET, (Hayden Panettiere, “Ice Princess”) learns that she is totally indestructible. A Las Vegas stripper, NIKI SANDERS , (Ali Larter, “Final Destination”), struggling to make ends meet to support her young son (Noah Gray-Cabey, “My Wife & Kids”), discovers that her mirror image has a secret. A fugitive from justice (Leonard Roberts, “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”) continues to baffle authorities who twice have been unable to contain him. A gifted artist ISAAC MENDEZ, (Santiago Cabrera, “Empire”), whose drug addiction is destroying his life and relationship with his girlfriend SIMONE DEVEAUX (Tawny Cypress, NBC’s “Third Watch”), can paint the future. A down-on-his-luck Los Angeles beat cop MATT PARKMAN (Greg Grunberg, “Alias”) can hear people’s thoughts, which puts him on the trail of an elusive serial killer. In Japan, a young man HIRO NAKAMURA (Masi Oka, NBC’s “Scrubs”) develops a way to stop time through sheer will power. Their ultimate destiny is nothing less than saving the world…

Now, this show is probably so interesting and intriguing to me because it shows me – yes, in a make-believe world kind of way – that there are indeed heroes among us.  I have always believed this to be the case, which is a large reason that I’ve always chosen to put my “faith” in people rather than in a deity, or religion as a whole. 

“So, other than your love of fantasy,” you might be wondering, “what’s the point of this post?”

My answer to that is that there are people in this world who could very well be heroes.  Which brings me to BUSH, everyone around him as well as their counterparts around the world.

These people are in very unique positions in that they have the powers to actually SAVE this planet from a cascading destruction.  They could end famine, disease, wars, terrorism, weapons proliferations, ecological destruction and a litany of other threats facing this planet, as well as everyone and everything that lives on it.

Instead, they seem driven by greed, hubris, power and control of all they can collectively touch.  All in the name of either State or Religion…or both.

Where are the real heroes?  We know you’re out there.  And why don’t you use the powers you’ve been given by those you represent to actually save us?  Or does the real life story have to end like it could in the TV series…?

B-O-O-M

2 Responses to “Where Are The REAL HEROES?”

  1. RevelKC said

    “Heroes” moved up quite a few notches in my book with the addition of Christopher Eccleston (28 Days Later/The new “Dr Who” season 1) who I think is just tremedously talented.

    Plus all the men are to varying degrees HOT HOT HOT, especially Pasdar and Ramamurthy…WOOF!

  2. RevelKC said

    Oh–I also think, from the brief glimpse we saw on Monday…that Donald Sutherland is going to be Mr Linderman.

    Or somebody who looks like Donald Sutherland at a brief glimpse…:-)

Leave a Reply

 
