The Tempest

Not Exactly Shooting For \”Miss Congeniality\”

I Don’t Want To Tempt Fate…But…

Posted by Daniel on Friday, April 6, 2007

Losing Her Audience?This is a true statement. I have debated even bringing this subject up at all, but I really think I may have finally gotten my wish.

Ann Coulter, I think, has finally been sent packing by the GOP media cows.

For now, that is.

Have those on the Right finally seen the light? Do they, at long last, understand that using water-carriers (I’m sure she’s a carrier of far more), like Coulter, et al? Is it possible that this time, thanks to Coulter, the GOP has had to take a step back from using such mouthpieces in light of the fact that words like hers can only do even more harm to their already-tainted public image?

If you don’t recall the last public words vomited forth by the Coulter-geist, here’s a brief rehash…

Sidenote: I feel compelled to warn you that if you’re easily offended by anti-gay slurs, you might want to cover your eyes.  I feel even MORE compelled to warn you that if you are easily offended by the mere sight of mAnn Coulter, you should have an air-sickness bag at the ready.

Speaking at the Conservative Political Action Conference (Friday, March 2nd), right-wing pundit Ann Coulter said: “I was going to have a few comments on the other Democratic presidential candidate John Edwards, but it turns out you have to go into rehab if you use the word ‘faggot,’ so I — so kind of an impasse, can’t really talk about Edwards.” Audience members said “ohhh” and then cheered. Bitch

Prominent politicians from both parties and a gay-rights group on Saturday condemned right-wing commentator Ann Coulter for her reference.

The New York Times reported that she responded, in an e-mail, “C’mon, it was a joke. I would never insult gays by suggesting that they are like John Edwards. That would be mean.”

A spokesman for Sen. John McCain, a Republican presidential candidate, called Coulter’s comments to the conservative group “wildly inappropriate.”

During a question-and-answer session, Coulter referred back to the issue of gays by alluding to the bid for the Republican presidential nomination being made by former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney.

“I do want to point out one thing that has been driving me crazy with the media — how they keep describing Mitt Romney’s position as being pro-gays, and that’s going to upset the right wingers,” she said. “Well, you know, screw you! I’m not anti-gay. We’re against gay marriage. I don’t want gays to be discriminated against.”

She added, “I don’t know why all gays aren’t Republican. I think we have the pro-gay positions, which is anti-crime and for tax cuts. Gays make a lot of money and they’re victims of crime. No, they are! They should be with us.”

A spokesman for Romney called Coulter’s use of the slur “offensive.”

Leave a Reply

 
