The Tempest

Not Exactly Shooting For \”Miss Congeniality\”

One Man’s Trash Is Another Man’s Treasure

Posted by Daniel on Thursday, April 26, 2007

Everything MUST go!!!Sure, but what if it’s not one, but two men…and they’re gay…and they have great taste…and

Okay, so this Saturday is the annual Spring Subdivision-wide Garage Sale.  A chance for people to come and buy all the shit I bought at their garage sales last year.  

So here is how it goes at this house:

  • We start rounding up all the stuff that can – and should – be gleaned from the household inventory.  This usually begins after Christmas.
  • Steve takes off the two days prior to the sale to begin pricing and arranging everything.
  • Displays are mapped out, categorized and organized.  After all, presentation is everything!!
  • Signs strategically placed.
  • Steve sets up his desk, cash box, beverages for sale, stereo on, and takes care of customers.
  • Daniel, as President of the Homeowners Association, goes from house to house helping where he can.
  • Steve sells the shit out of our crap treasures.
  • Daniel buys more crap treasures at the other sales.

Generally speaking, Steve is very adept at selling stuff in a garage sale (which is perfect, because I am so not a people-person and selling to the public just isn’t in me), while I meander through the subdivision making sure all is going well and traffic keeps flowing evenly.  Occasionally I will see something I can probably do without, but simply must have.

One important thing we’ve learned over the years about garage sales, especially having one of your own…We now know what will and won’t move.

Clothes and books – You might as well donate them to some charity organization before your sale.  These items just sit there, occasionally being picked through but ultimately being passed up for a spatula or one roller skate.

The big movers are electronics.  This year, we have ass-loads, as we’ve been upgrading everything from computers to TV’s.  

I can hear Steve’s cash register now…cha-ching…cha-ching!!

This year, I’ve also decided to unload all of the Spongebob Squarepants merchandise.  I’d almost forgotten just how much of that shit I collected…and most of it’s still in it’s original packaging!!  Everyone I know had been giving me items over the years because they knew I was so into it.  I can’t believe I fell for the hype.  What am I, twelve???

Besides, now I’m really into Transformers…I hear they’re more than meet the eye.

Anyway, you’re all invited over this weekend to gawk at our goodies and buy something.   I’m sure you’ll find just what you’re looking for here…but if you can’t, I’ll be buying it right around the corner.

2 Responses to “One Man’s Trash Is Another Man’s Treasure”

  1. Cameron said

    Are you allowing presales???????? Do you have any kitchen curtains??????????? Biggo LOL

  2. Addison said

    And here I am selling my Transformers collection on Ebay.

Leave a Reply

 
